AusGrind: Australian underground grindcore, punk, doom and DIY culture.

August 6th: Adrift for Days album launch with Agonhymn

Posted by Lachlan

Adrift for Days - The Lunar MariaSydney psychedelic stoner/doom band Adrift for Days are launching their 71-minute debut album "The Lunar Maria" this Friday at Club Carnage (Plantation Bar, Empire Hotel, Kings Cross). Joining them are Melbourne's experimental doom duo Agonhymn alongside locals Summonus and Bad Voodoo.

"The Lunar Maria" is inspired by groups like Neurosis, Electric Wizard, Weedeater, Alice in Chains, Orange Goblin, Om and Sleep and features members of other Sydney bands including Ebolie, Intrepid, The Captains Package and Kill A Celebrity.

The album was recorded at The Brain Studios, with additional recording, mixing and mastering completed by Tim Carr at 301 Studios.

Adrift for Days have two songs from "The Lunar Maria" available for streaming and download on their MySpace page. The album will be made available for $15 at shows as well as online and through iTunes from August.

Facebook  Event


Beyond Terror Beyond Grace new album pre-order, new tracks and Australian tour

Posted by Lachlan

The Australian grindcore 4-piece Beyond Terror Beyond Grace have announced a release date of February the 4th, 2010 for their new album "Our Ashes Built Mountains".

No details as to who will be releasing or distribution the album have yet come to light, but they have a pre-order available at their online store (you can secure a copy for $20 AUD, or a CD and T-Shirt combo for $40, and both come with 2 BTBG stickers).

"Our Ashes Built Mountains" was recorded, mixed and mastered by the incredible Tim Carr of Tim Carr-Theta Laboratories and 301 Studios Sydney, and features artwork by Colin Marks (Strapping Young Lad, Whitechapel, Aborted, Suicide Silence). There is also a long list of guest vocalists, including Jason Peppiatt (Psycroptic), Jarrod Krafcyk (ex-The Amenta/The Riot and the Trauma/Anchored Awake), Alex Pope (Ruins), Anna Vo (Crux), Blake Simpson (Gallows for Grace) and Tim Pope (The Amenta).

As you'd expect, two (heavily-compressed MP3 quality, MySpace-raped) cuts of the new album are listenable on their MySpace page. The amount which MySpace has clearly degraded the sound quality in its compression upsets me. As such I'm not going to make any judgements based on two low-quality MySpace sample tracks, so let me just say I am very curious and excited to see what the guys have come up with.

To support the new album, Beyond Terror Beyond Grace will take off on a 6-date national tour alongside New Zealand death metallers Ulcerate. It looks like Portal are also involved in at least the Sydney date, which is fucking awesome. Unforunately it doesnt look like Perth or Hobart are on that list.

The guys had this to say about the album:

"We are beyond happy with the results, and we feel that to say that this CD is an enormous step up musically, in production, lyrically and conceptually from the last album is a bit of an understatement. We have really made an effort to craft a complete album rather than just throwing a bunch of songs together - there are lyrical concepts, samples, ideas and motifs that thematically link throughout the whole CD. We are very much looking forward to getting it out there. More news soon, including labels, and international shows."

Beyond Terror Beyond Grace - Our Ashes Built Mountains Promo Video


Ebolie / Kill A Celebrity Recording Update

Posted by Lachlan

Two of Sydney's loudest grind bands Ebolie and Kill A Celebrity are set to record new material within a week of each other. Both recordings are being tended to by Tim Carr of Soviet Records and 301 Studios.

Tim recently mastered Beyond Terror Beyond Grace's full length album Extinction|Salvation and has worked with a wealth of local talent including Dining in Tuscany and Hospital the Musical, Katie Noonan, Seppuku, Lord, Decoder Ring, Slowly Building Weapons, After the Fall, Ohana and The Sex Pistols (who clearly arent local).

Ebolie go into this studio this weekend to record fifteen songs which will make up their as-yet untitled full length album. Rumoured track titles include Cronullafornia, Brock Samson, Into the Hornets Nest and Death By A Thousand Dusters.

Kill A Celebrity go into the studio next weekend to record their half of a split CD with UK experimental noise/grind band Krupskaya. The group are recording eleven tracks, and have recently released the tracklisting (though reportedly no in order):

- Hyperviolent Pornography
- Genocidal Superstar
- A Cancer With Eyes
- The God Delusion
- Dying For Meth
- United States of Apathy
- Grind of the Everyday
- Paris Hiltons Head on a Fucking Stake
- Hell is Other People
- You're A Disease
- Pollute, Rape, Decay

Both recordings are set to be released through Australia's Grindhead Records.

Kill A Celebrity's Ben


Kill A Celebrity News and New Track

Posted by Lachlan

It's a sunday afternoon, I'm hungover and we need a new post. I have no choice but to revert to shameless self promotion. (For those unaquainted, I play guitar in the fast, violent and abrasive three piece Sydney grind band Kill A Celebrity).

Kill A Celebrity have a new song online on their My Space profile. Check it out. This track is the first of four new songs recorded for the purposes of tiding over our legions of adoring fans until we go into the studio to record. They're like animals they are. In the coming weeks we will post up three new originals that are sure to go down in the annuals of history as grindcore classics - Dying for Meth, The God Delusion and Genocidal Superstar.

We're scheduled to go into the studio to record our label debut with the UK experimental noise/grind band Krupskaya. If you like intense, spastic grindcore and havent heard these guys - do yourselves a favour and check them out. Their debut Clouds Over Pripyat is on constant rotation in my playlist. The rumour is these guys are going to come over and grind up Australia after they've finished with Europe and Asia.

We are recording in Janurary with the help of Tim Carr of Soviet Records and 310 Studios - who will also engineer our side of the split. Tim has recently worked with our label mates Beyond Terror Beyond Grace, mastering their incredible new full length album (which is going to pressing this fucking week!!!). He has also worked with Slowly Building Weapons, Hospital The Musical and Dining In Tuscany. He seems like a really switched on bloke who is sincerely passionate about all forms of music and we look forward to working with him.

Stay tuned for new recordings - and dont miss us when we play with INSECT FUCKING WARFARE and Australia's best in experimental grindcore AGENTS OF ABHORRENCE in Feburary! Check it out cunts.


Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/56/14012356/tmp/sess_8hl0tssgiio2o8unqoikssb6e1, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0